Thursday, February 12, 2009

Open Mouth.....Insert Foot

No, not me!=) So Cal invited over two of the guys that he works with on Tuesday night for dinner, and one of the guys (we'll call R) brought his wife (who we'll call L). They are such an awesome group of people and it was so nice to finally meet meet. Well one of the reasons that R is on rear-detachment with Cal is because he is undergoing treatment for testicular cancer. Cal had told me this and also he may not be able to have children "naturally". He does have sperm collected somewhere when they do decide to have children. Poor guy is my age. So I had completely forgot that Cal had told me about his condition. R, L, and I were inside chatting while Cal was BBQing and L was just all over Alexis.....so of course I was like "when and are you guys going to have children." There was an awkward silence that I didn't realize about until later. They had just responded that they were still enjoying the married life and maybe in a couple of years. When they were leaving Cal cracked a "ball joke" to R and it hit he about why he couldn't have children. ****banging fist against head***** Leave it to me say something like that=)

I was happy though that Cal has finally brought work friends home that have no drama. Some of these couples I have met have such issues. Plus it is a nice perk that L works for a company based out of Houston which is the largest alcohol distributors in El Paso currently. We celebrated with a few awesome bottle of wine that night. I was wondering my head hurt yesterday morning.

On another note, Alexis has been doing well in her new bed. She loves her room. She went back to her room yesterday and I hadn't seen her in a little while, so I went back to check on her. She was just chilling and hanging out in her bed. it was so cute. Nap times are still a bit of a challenge because she wants to get up and play with all her toys. She did take a nap by herself the other day, but I have bee having to in there and lay with her and rub her head and back until she goes to sleep. But she has been sleeping great at night, so no complaints there.

Other than that, not much else going on.

Oh that makes me remember about the day of the BBQ. What crazy weather we had.....it was snowing and was crazy windy. Well I was at home Tuesday afternoon getting ready for the BBQ and I look out the window in the kitchen towards the backyard......what do I see.....the lid to a BBQ, and it wasn't ours. So I go outside and was peeking over the fences to see whose it might be. It belonged to our backyard neighbor, diagonally across from us in the back. Their house also sits on a downward slope from our house. That was one huge gust of wind that sent that lid soaring to our yard. I took it back tot he guy yesterday and he was laughing about it. Crazy!

Okay, I think that is all.....until next time

2 comments:

Anonymous said...

Eh, don't beat yourself up too much, doesn't matter so much I'd say to most of us testicular cancer folk.

People ask me & my wife when we're going to have kids, we just tell 'em we're waiting.

Beugler Family said...

lol nice job inserting foot... glad you found some couples that dont have the drama. thats our issue with some of aarons friends from work. great guys, but too much drama to bring into our lives.....